Codex of Beasts – Classifications

Another short post. Tonight’s session 4 of Darkest Nights… Hopefully. I’ll do the recap later this week. Before that, however, here’s something about how one would classify demons. Although some demons can slip between the ranks of demons, this should be a decent base for describing the power of a demon.

The most basic form divides them into Lesser and Greater Demons. The simple deciding factor is whether the demon is unique or not. The “named demons” (though all demons have a name), are the ones with enough power to have a lasting and personal form. These are sometimes refered to with human titles, like prince, duke, queen, or whatever. The Lesser Demons are weak, and can only incarnate in some special ways, as well as being more limited in how they act and interact with the world. They are often themselves locked to one or a few forms, as well as a certain emotion or sin. The term “lesser” is misleading however, as even the weakest demons are quite a match for a human.

This two-way split can be a little limited though. If one bases the ranking on how powerful a demon is, then four decently distinct levels appear.

Four Levels

Lowest are those demons that are practically mundane when summoned. These are the ones that incarnate as Imps or Manikins. Their supernatural powers are limited to human traits pushed to the extreme.

Next are the demons that can command magical powers in the real world, but are of a certain limited kind. These are the Doppelgangers, Slaughter Fiends, Pact Makers, to name a few. When one is destroyed, there are others to take its place.

Starting to reach the “greater” level, are the semi-unique ones. They are based on a lower level type, but are more powerful and have some special or rare traits as well. They are on their way to ascending to the highest level.

And the top of the pack is, of course, the “true greater demons”. They can shape their form as they want, and have powers nearing demigod-like levels. These are rarely summoned to the physical realm, and if they are defeated it’s only at great cost.


Some demons identify with one of the deadly sins, or several. These can be sometimes be identified, and sometimes it’s more subtle. One must remember, however, that these classifications are rule of thumb rather than set in stone. It’s a guideline to guess a demon’s capabilities and weaknesses.

This is all for today, I think. At least all for now. I will probably follow this up with a more in-depth post on the demon typology, at a later time. Until then!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s